If you have ever been arrested for a DWI in Missouri, you may be wondering what is the minimum legal BAC for driving. The first time you are arrested for this crime, your license will be suspended for 90 days, and you’ll have to undergo a 30 day no-driving period. After that, you’ll have to spend another sixty days restricted driving, which may include driving to and from work or school. For a second or third DWI, you’ll be forced to take a substance-abuse program and take a class to get your license reinstated.
If you’ve been arrested for a DWI, the first step is to obtain an administrative hearing. You’ll be given 15 days to request this hearing, but you can still drive during that time. If you don’t win the hearing at the first level, you’ll lose your license for a year. You can appeal this decision in the circuit court for a full hearing. However, it is important to note that you must file a Petition for Review within 15 days of receiving the Notice of Revocation.
Another way to get a DWI in Missouri is to be convicted of DUI. There are two ways to get a DWI: either be over the legal limit or be “under the influence.” Missouri DWI Laws allow for testing of blood, urine, saliva, or breath. You will be told what you are charged with, and what your penalties will be if you refuse to submit to the test. If you refuse to submit to a breathalyzer test, you could lose your driver’s license for up to a year.
You may also be considered a “chronic offender” if you’ve been arrested for DWI three times within five years. These offenses will result in a mandatory two year prison term for a repeat offender. In addition to a jail sentence, you’ll likely be placed on probation for a period of time determined by the severity of the crime. In addition, you’ll need to complete a SATOP course or 480 hours of community service in order to become eligible for probation.
If you’ve been arrested for DWI and BAC is more than 0.15%, you’ll be automatically suspended from driving. A DWI conviction will also result in substantial fines, with a mandatory minimum of $500 for first-time offenders and $1,000 for repeat offenders. Your license will be suspended for 90 days, but you can still obtain a restricted license by requesting an ignition interlock device. You can hire a lawyer to help you navigate this process.
DWI in Missouri is a Class B misdemeanor crime, which means that your blood alcohol level is 0.08 or higher. The punishment depends on the severity of the offense, and how many previous convictions you have. If this is your first time, you could face up to six months in jail and an ignition interlock device requirement. If you’ve already had a DWI conviction in Missouri, the penalties are more severe.